Pamela W. Eckhardt, Clerk
Both people need to appear at the courthouse in person.
Both parties need to be present to fill out Marriage License Affidavit.
$30 fee for marriage license.
Proof of identity is required (drivers license, state issued ID, Military ID)
Social Security Numbers are required
Two copies are issued -- one is for the couple, the other is sent in by the person performing the ceremony to be recorded.
16 and 17-year-old applicants must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, or have a notarized statement signed by their parent or guardian. (Legal guardians will need to show a certified copy of their appointment of guardianship.)
If applicant is under 16 years of age, they will need parental consent in the form of a notarized statement and permission must be obtained from the Court.
A Mayor or person recognized by religion (Minister, Bishop, etc) (Idaho Code 32-303). You will need to contact these people early so you will be placed on their calendar.
No, however, with an Idaho State license, you must get married in Idaho.
No, you may get married the same day.
No, the office is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except state holidays.
No, blood tests are not necessary. State law, Idaho Code 32-412A, requires both parties to read and sign a premarital AIDS educational pamphlet (available at the counter).
No, a State of Idaho Marriage License is only valid in Idaho.
No, you may contact a judge to make an appointment for the same day or for the future. You may make an appointment with the Magistrate Court Judges at 782-3121.
No, an authorized clergy member, judge, or other designated official, i.e., mayor or governor, must perform the ceremony.
There is no expiration date on the license. If not used within a year, both parties will have to sign a Recorder's affidavit.
Yes, a $3.00 service fee will be charged.